01937 582051 Open 7:30am to 6:00pm Monday to Friday.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).colourful game 250x165

The EYFS is the stage of your child’s development from birth to five years and practitioners at the setting use this framework to provide activities that will support your child’s development.
The ‘Statutory Framework, 2014’ describes how your child should be kept safe and cared for and how all concerned can make sure that your child achieves the most that they can in their earliest years of life.The EYFS provides practitioners with Early Years Outcomes – a non-statutory guide for practitioners and inspectors to help inform understanding of child development through the early years.

The EYFS Themes and Principles

Theme: The Unique Child

Principle: Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Theme: Positive Relationships

Principle: Children can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Theme: Enabling Environment

Principle: Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Theme: Learning and Development

Principle: Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the educations and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

For each child, the Characteristics of Effective Learning are Playing and Exploring, Active Learning and Creating and Thinking Critically.
There are seven areas of learning in the EYFS. The three Prime areas work together and support development in all other areas:-
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
Four Specific areas grow out of the prime areas and provide context for learning:-
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design